Jury 2021
Artdocfest / Riga competition
Anton Dolin — Well-known Russian film critic, editor-in-chief of the oldest film magazine in Europe "Iskusstvo Kino" (Film Art). Television and radio presenter, a regular columnist in Meduza, author of 11 books about cinema, and a permanent member of the Screen International press jury at the Cannes and Berlin film festivals.
Dita Rietuma — Dr.Art. Film theorist, film critic, graduated from Moscow Film institute (VGIK). More than twenty years worked as the editor and film critic for the leading Latvian newspaper Diena and its cultural supplements. D.Rietuma is the author and co-author of numerous books about the film history. Served at the juries of different international film festivals. She is the docent of Riga Stradins University Communication faculty and the director of the National Film centre of Latvia - a public institution under auspices of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia with responsibility for the support for Latvian film industry.
Artemy Troitsky — Musical and political journalist, TV and radio presenter, writer and academic. Occasionally, he is also a scriptwriter, producer and a protagonist of documentary films. Currently lives in Tallinn, Estonia, hosts popular video blog and radio show, lectures at assorted universities in Europe and America.
Baltic focus competition program
Alina Rudnickaya — A renown film director and producer working with documentaries since 2002. She is laureate of Grand Prix and special prize of Artdocfest, the Russian National Prize " Laurel branch" and the Russian Film Critics' Award "White Elephant". Her work has been shown in many countries around the world and won numerous prizes at festivals in Leipzig, Madrid, Toronto, Zagreb, Berlin, Belgrade, Moscow and St. Petersburg. At the moment Alina is living in Prague and works as a creative producer of the documentary film department of the television channel “Current Time.” Alina has been a Jury member of IDFA, Warsaw and Moscow Film festivals.
Tue Steen Müller — A film consultant, also nick-named as “Godfather of Baltic documentary cinema in Europe”, has worked with short and documentary films for more than 20 years on the Danish Film Board – as press secretary, head of distribution and information, and as a commissioning editor. He has been the director of EDN – European Documentary Network and is co-founder of the Baltic Sea docs, which he has developed and curated for 24 years. Tue has frequently been on the juries of various European documentary festivals and given courses and seminars on documentaries in more than 30 countries. He has received multiple awards for his work with film. Müller has written multiple articles for national and international newspapers and magazines and writes frequently about documentaries on his blog www.filmkommentaren.dk.
Massimo Tria — Film critic, a specialist in Slavic studies, associate professor of the Philology and Linguistics Department of the University of Cagliari (Italy), film critic, and editor of the Italian film magazines Cabiria. Studi di cinema and Cineforum. From the years 2016-2018, Massimo Tria has been a member of the film selection group of the Venice Film Festival Critics' Week. Currently, he is working on a film selection for the Trieste Film Festival. Collaborates with Bergamo Film Meeting and Premio Fiesole and is a member of Memorial Italia, specializing in studies of culture versus totalitarianism. Massimo Tria is an author of articles about the world's most famous directors (Sokurov, Klimov, Konchalovsky, Wajda, Forman, Moretti, Amelio, Tavernier, Spike Lee, etc.).